A floating anchor.

A tattoo with the words I refuse to sink right next to them. I’ve always wanted to get it, but never has anyone ever asked me why. Until someone did. He asked me and for the first time in my life I had to voice the thoughts that went it my head.

Anchor; a heavy object attached to a cable or chain and used to moor a ship to the sea bottom. I was the anchor in my dad’s life. I was the support system to his anger. By making me sink, he could continue being a normal person to everyone else in life.

I refuse this role.
I am not your anchor, father.
I am not something you can leave to sink just so you live a good life.
I refuse to sink.
You can make me an anchor, but I will rise above and float on the surface.
I will make it.
I will not sink.

I want that tattoo, so I will always remember. I will not sink. I will be the anchor that floats.

– Pseudonym

4 thoughts on “A floating anchor.

  1. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it
    is time to be happy. I have read this publish and if I may just I desire to recommend
    you few attention-grabbing issues or tips. Maybe you
    can write subsequent articles referring to this article.

    I wish to learn more things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

